2022 World Series of Poker Inductee named

2022 World Series of Poker Inductee Named

Layne Flack is named 2022 World Series of Poker Inductee.  Every year, at least one new inductee makes it into the WSOP Hall of Fame. This month has seen another stunning poker player, one of the best Las Vegas has ever produced, enter the hall of fame, as Layne Flack received the honor. It is impressive to be the 2022 World Series of Poker Inductee.

The news that Flack would be entered into the star-studded group coincided with the Final Table of the WSOP Main Event being played out and the Hall of Fame Bounty Tournament taking place at Bally’s & Paris in Las Vegas.

Who Is Layne Flack?

Unless you’ve been living under a poker rock, Layne Flack is a name all poker enthusiasts should know well. He has acquired six WSOP gold bracelets in his career as a professional poker player. His final bracelet came in 2008 at the thirty-ninth edition of the flagship poker tournament. Flack has a host of honors to his name, not least winning two Legends of Poker tournaments in 1999. Earning him the nickname “Back-to-Back Flack” in the process.

Flack last appeared in the WSOP back in 2020 during a No-Limit Hold’em Senior’s Event. After inducting Flack into the hall of fame, Derick “Tex” Barch called Layne an amazing friend. He thanked him for bringing comfort to Barch when he lost his daughter in January.

Other Notable Inductees

Since the WSOP started inducting poker players into its ranks, there have been sixty-one famous faces to pass through its doors, starting in 1979 with Nick Dandolos, James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok, Edmond Hoyle, Felton McCorquodale, Johnny Moss, Red Winn, and Sid Wyman. Since then, the likes of Phil Ivey (2017), Mike Sexton (2009), Chris Moneymaker (2019), and the famous Doyle Brunson (1988) have all entered the hall of fame. A handful of women have also joined them, including Linda Johnson in 2011 and Jennifer Harman in 2015.

The World Series of Poker

The Poker Hall of Fame first began in 1979 but was bought by Harrah’s when they acquired the World Series of Poker in 2004. Of the sixty-one members inducted, only thirty-two are still alive. Typically (aside from the opening year), only one or two members are inducted annually. The ceremony takes place at the Main Event table of the World Series of Poker in Las Vegas each year.

Author: webmaster

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.